National History Day 2026

A comprehensive collection of U.S. documents including letters, photographs, video/audio recordings, drawings, maps, treaties and other material from U.S. history.

These primary source documents highlight pivotal moments in American history and government. They are among the most-viewed and sought-after documents in the holdings of the National Archives.

Discover 49,882,610 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States

Explore 877,348 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Explore a wide collection of books, documents and multimedia, the largest digital library in the world.

Access over 26,000 descriptions of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, films, works of art, and organizational records from across the Smithsonian’s archives. This database is a valuable resource for discovering primary sources and original research materials on a wide range of historical topics.

From the University of Texas, this site offers full-text transcriptions, audio, and video of 100 significant American political speeches from the 20th and 21st centuries.

Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this digital collection offers primary sources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial era through the early 20th century. Explore slave narratives, first-person accounts, letters, and other rare materials that bring the past to life.

Explore a curated collection of primary source documents in law, history, and diplomacy, spanning from ancient times to the present. Find original texts like treaties, speeches, and court decisions that have shaped the world.

From the University of Virginia, this site features oral history interviews and video clips from the Civil Rights Movement in Virginia. Hear firsthand stories and explore transcripts about school desegregation and social change.

From the University of Missouri–Kansas City School of Law, this site offers a comprehensive collection of materials on famous trials. Explore essays, images, primary documents, maps, transcript excerpts, video clips, and court decisions.